MYSTERY POCKET POEMS

Such a fun idea!

LITERACY & SOCIAL JUSTICE FOR ALL

Pocket Poems

April was National Poetry Month, and since many students are poetry-phobic, I saw an opportunity to create a buzz around one of my favorite genres of literature.

Each week of April, I selected three short, easy-to-read poems, printed them out on colorful paper, folded them up, and offered them in a jar outside my classroom door with a sign inviting students to take a poem to keep with them. I selected fun little poems such as William Carlos Williams’s “Red Wheelbarrow”, Lewis Carroll’s “The Crocodile”, and Nikki Giovanni’s “Possum Crossing”. These poems are colorful, relatively easy to digest, and accessible to my students, who range from grades 5 to 8.

I put the cupcake jar out on Monday morning on a little desk beside my door, and issued an announcement about National Poetry Month, and for students to visit my door for a surprise pocket poem. Then I waited. Would…

View original post 217 more words

3 thoughts on “MYSTERY POCKET POEMS

  1. I love this idea. I tend to dislike poetry (strongly dislike!), so this is a great idea to get myself and others like myself interested in and talking about poetry. I like it!

  2. This is a great idea! Thanks for reposting! It gets students motivated and is a creative approach to learning.

Leave a Reply

